Arkansas statute sets out how taxes are computed. Appraised value multiplied by 20% equals assessed value. Since 2000 when Amendment 79 was passed by the voters of Arkansas, a new value has been created called taxable value. The taxable value consist of a base value, which is the assessed value prior to first reappraisal after the passage of Amendment 79, plus any caps (5%, 10%, or freeze) and newly discovered property for each year thereafter. The taxable value multiplied by the millage rate for your school district equals tax amount.
For instance if you have a new house in Russellville School District appraised at $100,000, to estimate your taxes you would multiply $100,000 by 20% to get the assessed value of $20,000. Since it is a newly constructed house, the taxable value would also be $20,000. Then you multiply $20,000 by .0457 (total millage for Russellville School District), with a result of $914 as the estimated tax amount.
Personal property taxes are computed the same way. The Pope County Assessor will assign a dollar value to your personal property based on a manual provided by the Arkansas Assessment Coordination Division of DF&A. The resulting assessed value will be multiplied by the school district millage rate.
Millage rates are levied each November by the Pope County Quorum Court.
2021 Millage Rates
|#14||Russellville - City||.04582|
|#14||Russellville - Lo||.04530|